To apply for Bahrain's Golden Residency as a retiree, show a pension of at least BHD 4,000 a month, or BHD 2,000 after 15 years working in Bahrain, plus health insurance valid in Bahrain and good conduct. File with the NPRA and pay BHD 5; the official service time is 5 working days, and the 10-year licence costs BHD 300.
- Two retiree categories. A pension of at least BHD 4,000 a month earned in Bahrain or abroad, or an average of BHD 2,000 a month after 15 years of work in Bahrain.
- No investment. Only a retirement pension qualifies; there is no deposit, property or savings option, and no minimum age is stated.
- Fees and time. BHD 300 issuance fee per person, plus a BHD 5 application fee; the official service time is 5 working days.
- No minimum stay. The 90-days-a-year rule was deleted from 27 November 2025; a tax Certificate of Residence still needs 183 days.
- Renewable, not permanent. A 10-year licence renewable for equal periods, and not a route to citizenship.
- Index rating. Golden, 80 out of 100, grade B, in the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index.
What is Bahrain's Golden Residency for retirees?
Bahrain's Golden Residency for retirees is a 10-year residence licence, renewable for equal periods, for retired foreigners with a pension of at least BHD 4,000 a month, or BHD 2,000 a month after 15 years of work in Bahrain. It is granted on proof of pension income, with no investment, deposit or property required.
The retiree categories are set by the Decision of the Minister of Interior No. (20) of 2022 on the Golden Residency entry visa and residence licence (Official Gazette no. 3585, 10 February 2022), as amended by Decision No. (150) of 2025 (Official Gazette no. 3847, 27 November 2025). The Nationality, Passports and Residence Affairs (NPRA) of the Ministry of Interior issues the licence. We read both decisions and the government service pages on 11 October 2026. For an overview of the route, see our Bahrain retirement visa page.
In the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index, the retiree category is rated Golden, with a score of 80 out of 100 and confidence grade B, on a pension floor of BHD 4,000 a month. In our definition, a golden retirement visa is a residence permit, not citizenship, with no investment required. The route earns full marks on presence and processing, and loses most of its points on the path to permanent status and citizenship. Read the score together with the BHD 4,000 floor: this route suits a retiree with a substantial pension.
Who can apply for Bahrain's Golden Residency as a retiree?
Two kinds of retired foreigner can apply for Bahrain's Golden Residency: a non-resident retiree with a government or private sector pension of at least BHD 4,000 a month, earned in Bahrain or abroad, and a resident retiree who worked in Bahrain for at least 15 years and receives an average pension of at least BHD 2,000 a month.
The conditions in Decision 20 of 2022:
- Non-resident retiree (Article 1 item 2): a retirement pension of at least BHD 4,000 a month "or its equivalent", from the government or private sector, earned through work in Bahrain or abroad. No Bahraini work history is needed.
- Resident retiree (Article 1 item 5): at least 15 years of work in the government or private sector in Bahrain, and an average pension of at least BHD 2,000 a month over the last 5 years of residence.
- Pension income only: dividends, interest, rent and annuities are not listed as alternatives, and there is no savings, deposit or net-worth option. Whether the pension must be paid for life is not specified.
- No investment, deposit or minimum balance, and no minimum age is stated.
- Good conduct (Article 2(1)): no conviction for a felony or misdemeanour involving honour or honesty, even if the applicant has been rehabilitated.
- Health insurance (Article 2(2)): valid in Bahrain for the whole validity of the licence.
Issue is discretionary under Article 3, so meeting every condition does not guarantee approval. If your pension is below these thresholds, a route with a lower income test may serve you better; see the comparison at the end of this guide.
How do you apply for Bahrain Golden Residency as a retiree, step by step?
You apply for Bahrain's retiree Golden Residency in six steps: confirm your category, prepare your pension evidence, arrange health insurance valid in Bahrain, file with the NPRA and pay the BHD 5 application fee, receive the decision within the official service time of 5 working days, and then pay the BHD 300 issuance fee.
- Confirm your category. Non-resident retiree (BHD 4,000 a month) or resident retiree (15 years of work in Bahrain and an average of BHD 2,000 a month). The bahrain.bh government service directory lists them as two services: Golden Residency for Retired Non-Resident Foreigners, and Golden Residency for Foreign Residents in Bahrain (Employees/Retirees).
- Prepare your pension evidence. For the non-resident category, the service page asks for a pension certificate showing at least BHD 4,000 a month and a 6-month bank statement. For resident retirees, the service page asks for a salary certificate showing at least BHD 2,000, while the Decision tests an average pension; which document is accepted is not yet officially confirmed, so we check it before filing.
- Arrange health insurance. It must be valid in Bahrain for the whole licence (Article 2(2)), and you must also meet the good-conduct condition (Article 2(1)).
- File with the NPRA and pay the application fee. The service directory links both services to the government eServices, including the Residency Issuance Request service. The application fee is BHD 5 and is not refundable.
- Wait for the decision. The official service time for the non-resident retiree service is 5 working days, and issue is discretionary.
- Pay the issuance fee and add your family. The licence is issued for a fee of BHD 300, and Article 7 sets the same BHD 300 for the licence of each dependant. Your spouse, children and parents may receive dependant licences at your request (Article 4).
What documents do you need for the retiree application?
For the non-resident retiree category, the core documents are a pension certificate showing at least BHD 4,000 a month, a 6-month bank statement and proof of health insurance valid in Bahrain for the whole licence. The complete document list is not yet in our verified data, so we confirm it for your case before you file.
| Requirement | Non-resident retiree | Resident retiree | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pension threshold | BHD 4,000 a month, or its equivalent | Average of BHD 2,000 a month over the last 5 years of residence | Decision 20 of 2022, Article 1 items 2 and 5 |
| Work history | Government or private sector, in Bahrain or abroad | At least 15 years in the government or private sector in Bahrain | Decision 20 of 2022, Article 1 |
| Pension evidence | Pension certificate (minimum BHD 4,000) and a 6-month bank statement | Service page asks for a salary certificate (minimum BHD 2,000); the accepted document is not yet officially confirmed | bahrain.bh service directory |
| Health insurance | Valid in Bahrain for the whole licence | Same | Article 2(2) |
| Good conduct | No conviction for a felony or misdemeanour involving honour or honesty | Same | Article 2(1) |
| Government fees | BHD 5 application fee and BHD 300 issuance fee | Same | Article 7 and the service directory |
| Official service time | 5 working days | Not stated in our verified data | bahrain.bh service directory |
Check that the pension certificate states the monthly amount clearly, since the threshold is tested against it.
Not sure whether your pension evidence will be accepted?
Pension certificates and insurance documents are where most files slow down. Book a free, confidential consultation and we will review your documents against the official requirements before you file.
How long does the application take, and what does it cost?
The official service time for Bahrain's non-resident retiree Golden Residency is 5 working days, and the government fees are a BHD 300 issuance fee per person plus a BHD 5 non-refundable application fee. Article 7 of Decision 20 of 2022 sets the same BHD 300 for the licence of each dependant.
On the fees as published, the government charges a BHD 300 issuance fee for each licence, the principal’s and each dependant’s, and a BHD 5 application fee; whether the BHD 5 is also charged for each dependant is not stated. No evidence of real-world processing times was gathered for this route, so treat 5 working days as a service standard rather than a promise. Beyond the government fees, budget for health insurance and for preparing your documents; no investment, deposit or minimum balance is required at any stage.
Can your spouse, children and parents join you?
Your spouse, children and parents can join you: Article 4 of Decision 20 of 2022 allows dependant licences for them at your request. No extra pension per dependant is set in the texts we read, but each dependant licence carries its own BHD 300 fee, and dependant licences do not include the right to work.
The holder is also limited on work. Under Article 5, a holder may not take a job in the government or private sector without first obtaining the necessary permits from the competent authorities, and the official portal's FAQ names a Labour Market Regulatory Authority (LMRA) work permit.
Do you need to live in Bahrain once the licence is issued?
You do not need to live in Bahrain to keep the retiree Golden Residency. Since 27 November 2025 there has been no minimum stay: Decision 150 of 2025 deleted the old rule that cancelled the licence without 90 days of residence a year, and Article 6 lets you leave and return throughout the licence.
Two points remain. The Under-Secretary for Nationality, Passports and Residence may set further conditions (Article 2 item 4 and Article 12), so before each filing we check that no new presence rule has been introduced. And the National Bureau for Revenue issues a Certificate of Residence for tax purposes only on 183 days or more of physical presence in the year, so the licence alone does not prove Bahraini tax residence. To compare routes with light presence rules, see our guide to residency without relocating.
How does renewal work, and is the licence permanent?
The retiree Golden Residency is not permanent: it is a 10-year licence, renewable for equal periods under Article 1 of Decision 20 of 2022. Government material markets it as permanent residency, but the legal instrument is a renewable licence, which is why the Golden Retirement Index places it in the renewal category every 10 years, no permanent status.
The renewal procedure and its conditions are not yet officially confirmed in our verified data, so we review them with you before each renewal.
The licence is also not a route to citizenship. Naturalisation in Bahrain is discretionary under the Bahraini Nationality Law of 1963 (Articles 6 and 9), and the current residence period and conditions are not yet officially confirmed in our reading, so we do not quote a number. The licence gives residence, never a passport; our guide to residency versus citizenship explains the difference.
Does Bahrain tax a foreign pension once you live there?
Bahrain does not tax a foreign pension, because it has no personal income tax. In its submission to the OECD Common Reporting Standard portal, Bahrain states that there is no general taxation on the personal income of individuals and no withholding, estate or gift taxes.
The National Bureau for Revenue's list of tax laws covers only VAT, excise tax and the Domestic Minimum Top-up Tax, an entity-level tax on large multinational groups. Capital gains tax and wealth tax are not expressly addressed in the official sources we read, so their treatment is not yet officially confirmed. Bahrain also exchanges financial account information under the Common Reporting Standard, with its first exchange in 2018.
Tax follows tax residence, not the permit. The treatment above applies once you are tax-resident in Bahrain, and proving that to another country needs the 183-day certificate. Your home country may still tax your pension under its own law and any tax treaty with Bahrain. Our guide to countries that don't tax foreign pensions sets out how this works across routes. This is general information, not tax advice.
What do some guides get wrong about the retiree application?
Some guides mix up Bahrain's retiree Golden Residency with a different permit, or repeat rules that have since changed. Three points come up repeatedly: a BHD 500 income figure, a 90-day presence rule and the word permanent. Each is corrected below from the official texts read on 11 October 2026.
- "The retiree permit needs only BHD 500 a month." The BHD 500 stable-income figure in the government service directory belongs to a separate self-sponsorship permit for retired foreigners with 15 years of service in Bahrain or another Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) state, under Decision No. (74) of 2007. The Golden Residency retiree thresholds are the BHD 4,000 and BHD 2,000 tests set out above.
- "You must spend 90 days a year in Bahrain." Decision 150 of 2025 deleted that condition with effect from 27 November 2025.
- "It is permanent residency with no renewal." It is a 10-year licence, renewable for equal periods.
How does Bahrain compare with other golden retirement visas?
Bahrain suits a retiree with a substantial pension who wants a long licence, no presence rule and a Gulf base. Among the other routes in the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index, Panama's Pensionado scores 90 out of 100 and is permanent from the grant, while the UAE retirement visa is rated Partial, at 69.5, because of a strict presence rule.
- Panama Pensionado visa: Golden, 90 out of 100, grade A; permanent from the grant, with no renewals.
- Thailand LTR retirement visa: Golden, 79.8 out of 100, grade B; renewed every 5 years, with no permanent status.
- Philippines Special Resident Retiree's Visa: Golden, 77 out of 100, grade B; permanent from the grant.
- Mauritius retirement residence permit: Golden, 76.1 out of 100, grade B; permanent residence at the first expiry.
- UAE retirement visa: Partial, 69.5 out of 100, grade B; renewed every 5 years, held back by its presence rule.
For the wider field, including routes that tax foreign income, see our retirement residency programmes directory. You can also ask Mira, by Mirabello, the AI advisor of Mirabello Immigration Intelligence, whether your pension fits Bahrain or another Golden route.
Ready to apply for Bahrain's Golden Residency as a retiree?
Mirabello Consultancy prepares the file with you from our Dubai office, with Swiss precision and absolute discretion. Book your free consultation to check your pension, your family members and your timeline.
In summary
Applying for Bahrain's Golden Residency as a retiree is short on paper: the right pension, health insurance valid in Bahrain, good conduct, a BHD 5 application fee and an official service time of 5 working days, followed by the BHD 300 issuance fee for each licence. The care lies in the details: pension evidence that clearly meets BHD 4,000 a month, or BHD 2,000 on average after 15 years of work in Bahrain, insurance that covers the whole 10-year licence, and a plan for each renewal.
Mirabello Consultancy prepares and coordinates Golden Residency files with Swiss precision. Book your free consultation and we will confirm whether your pension qualifies and what the full process will involve for you and your family. This article is general information and not legal or tax advice.
Frequently asked questions
Frequently asked questions
Can a retiree who never worked in Bahrain apply for Golden Residency?
Yes. The non-resident retiree category in Article 1 item 2 of Decision 20 of 2022 accepts a government or private sector pension earned through work in Bahrain or abroad, so no Bahraini work history is needed. The pension must be at least BHD 4,000 a month or its equivalent, and issue remains at the authority's discretion under Article 3.
How much pension do I need for Bahrain's retiree Golden Residency?
Non-resident retirees need a pension of at least BHD 4,000 a month or its equivalent. Retirees who worked in Bahrain for at least 15 years in the government or private sector need an average pension of at least BHD 2,000 a month over their last 5 years of residence. No extra pension per dependant is set in the texts we read.
Can savings, rent or investment income replace the pension?
No. Only a retirement pension is listed as qualifying income for the retiree category. Dividends, interest, rent and annuities are not listed as alternatives, and there is no savings, deposit or net-worth option. If you live mainly on investment income, compare other routes in the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index before you apply.
Is there a minimum age for the retiree Golden Residency?
No minimum age is stated in Decision 20 of 2022 or in the official service information we read. What matters is the retirement pension: at least BHD 4,000 a month for a non-resident retiree, or an average of BHD 2,000 a month for a retiree with at least 15 years of work in Bahrain.
How long does the Bahrain Golden Residency application take?
The official service time for the non-resident retiree service is 5 working days. That is the government's published service standard, not a guarantee: issue is discretionary under Article 3 of Decision 20 of 2022, and no evidence of real-world processing times was gathered. Allow extra time to prepare your pension evidence and health insurance before you file.
What are the government fees for the retiree Golden Residency?
The government fees are a BHD 300 issuance fee per person and a BHD 5 non-refundable application fee. Article 7 of Decision 20 of 2022 sets the BHD 300 fee for the principal licence and for each dependant's licence, so a dependant’s licence costs a further BHD 300, and whether the BHD 5 application fee is also charged per dependant is not stated. Health insurance and document preparation are separate costs.
Do I have to spend time in Bahrain every year?
No. Since 27 November 2025, Bahrain's Golden Residency sets no minimum stay, because Decision 150 of 2025 deleted the rule that cancelled the licence without 90 days of residence a year. Article 6 lets you leave and return throughout the licence. A Bahraini Certificate of Residence for tax purposes, however, needs 183 days or more of physical presence in the year.
Can I work in Bahrain on the retiree Golden Residency?
Not without a permit. Article 5 of Decision 20 of 2022 bars holders from taking a job in the government or private sector until they obtain the necessary permits from the competent authorities, and the official portal's FAQ names a Labour Market Regulatory Authority (LMRA) work permit. Dependant licences for your spouse, children and parents carry no work rights.
Does Bahrain's Golden Residency lead to citizenship?
No. The retiree Golden Residency is a 10-year licence, renewable for equal periods, and it is not a route to citizenship. Naturalisation in Bahrain is discretionary under the Bahraini Nationality Law of 1963, and the current residence period and conditions are not yet officially confirmed in our reading, so we do not quote a number. The licence gives residence, never a passport.
How do I start with Mirabello Consultancy?
Book a free, confidential consultation through our consultation page. From our Dubai office, we check your pension evidence against the BHD 4,000 or BHD 2,000 test, confirm the health insurance and the current document list, prepare the NPRA file for you and your family, and plan each ten-year renewal with you.
Ready to explore your options?
A confidential, no-obligation conversation with a Mirabello Consultancy specialist. Swiss precision, global reach, absolute discretion.
Book a free consultationResearching this yourself? Mirabello's verified data also answers inside your AI assistant. Ask it in ChatGPT or add it to Claude.
