Home / Residency / South Africa Retired Person Visa
South Africa grants a retired person visa, or permanent residence directly, to foreigners who prove a lifelong pension, annuity or retirement account, or assets paying the prescribed monthly minimum. The visa runs up to four years at a time and is renewable; the current minimum is not yet officially confirmed.
MCP
Overview
The Retired Person Visa, South Africa's retirement visa, grants residence for up to four years at a time, renewable, to foreigners who prove a lifelong pension, annuity or retirement account, or assets paying the prescribed monthly minimum, with permanent residence available directly on the same test. It is proof of income, not an investment.
South Africa's retired person visa is granted to a foreigner who intends to retire there and proves a pension, irrevocable annuity or retirement account paying at least the prescribed monthly amount for life (official sources differ on the current figure), or assets realising the same amount (Immigration Act 13 of 2002 s20; Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014). It is issued for up to four years at a time and renewable, and permanent residence on retirement grounds is available on the same test under section 27(e). Residents are taxed on worldwide income; a foreign pension for past employment abroad is exempt under section 10(1)(gC) of the Income Tax Act, while dividends, interest, rent and gains are taxed.
This is residence by financial means. Nothing is invested, donated or deposited with the state: you show a South African mission that a lifelong pension, annuity or retirement account pays you at least the prescribed monthly minimum, or that your assets produce the same amount each month, and both the income and the assets stay yours.
The Retired Person Visa is the visa under section 20 of the Immigration Act 13 of 2002 (consolidated text current from 26 May 2014; read 11 October 2026) for a foreigner who intends to retire in South Africa. Regulation 19 of the Immigration Regulations 2014 (copy updated to 2018; read 11 October 2026) sets the evidence, and Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014 (Gazette 37716; read 11 October 2026) prescribes the minimum amounts. The Department of Home Affairs (DHA) decides, through South African missions abroad.
The same test opens a second route: permanent residence for a person who intends to retire, under section 27(e) of the Act and regulation 24(11). Retirees can therefore choose between a renewable visa and permanent residence from the start.
Both give residence, not nationality or a passport. For the difference, see residency versus citizenship.
South Africa's test is a monthly income, not capital. These conditions come from section 20 of the Act, regulation 19 and Government Notice 451 of 2014.
The route fits less well if your pension is not paid for life and you have no assets to show instead, if you plan to work in South Africa (this is not a work visa; the Director-General may authorise work on conditions, section 20(2)), or if you live mainly on foreign dividends, interest or rent and will become tax-resident, because South Africa taxes that income.
Not fully: it is rated Partial, 67.4 out of 100, with confidence grade B, in the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index, scored on 11 October 2026 under methodology 1.1. Partial means the route meets most of the standard, with one gap. The Index states no specific reason against South Africa: the route is Partial because its score falls below the Golden line of 70. Its two weakest pillars are tax, because South Africa taxes residents on worldwide income and exempts only a qualifying foreign pension, and durability, because the visa is granted for up to four years at a time and renewed on fresh proof of income. Its strongest pillar is physical presence, with full marks: the visa sets no minimum stay. Its renewal category is "none: permanent residence at first expiry". The standard is Mirabello's own: Golden means at least 70 out of 100, confidence grade A or B and no fail on tax of foreign income, physical presence or renewal, and every route is scored from official sources.
No. The Retired Person Visa sets no minimum stay: it may allow you to sojourn in South Africa on a seasonal or continuous basis (section 20(3)(a)), which suits retirees who divide the year between two homes.
Permanent residence carries an absence rule: the permit may be withdrawn after an absence of more than three years, unless you apply for an extension before you go, or if you do not take up residence within one year of issue (section 28(c) and (d)). The limit does not apply to the visa.
Tax residence is a separate test. You are tax-resident if you are ordinarily resident in South Africa or, if not, present for more than 91 days in the year of assessment, more than 91 days in each of the 5 preceding years and more than 915 days in those 5 years (SARS, Taxation in South Africa 2026, read 11 October 2026). For routes with light presence rules, see our guide to residency without relocating.
South Africa taxes its residents on worldwide income, with no remittance basis: foreign income is taxed whether or not you bring it in. A foreign pension is the main exception. Under section 10(1)(gC) of the Income Tax Act it is exempt when paid under another country's social security system (subparagraph (i)), or when it is a lump sum, pension or annuity from a source outside South Africa for past employment outside South Africa (subparagraph (ii)). Otherwise it is taxed at progressive rates, up to a top rate of 45%. How the exemption treats South African retirement funds, and service only partly abroad, rests on SARS guidance not read directly, so those details are not yet officially confirmed.
Foreign dividends, interest, rent and capital gains are taxed at the rates below (SARS Budget tax guide 2026, read 11 October 2026), and if you later cease to be resident your assets are treated as disposed of for capital gains tax. South Africa's overall treatment is therefore partial: some foreign income is taxed and some is not.
| Income | Treatment for a South African tax resident |
|---|---|
| Foreign pension | Exempt if paid under another country's social security system, or for past employment outside South Africa (s10(1)(gC)); otherwise taxed at progressive rates up to 45%. |
| Foreign dividends and interest | Taxed: dividends at a maximum effective 20% (holding under 10%); interest and rent at progressive rates up to 45%. |
| Foreign capital gains | Taxed at a maximum effective 18%; deemed disposal when you cease to be resident. |
| Wealth and inheritance tax | No annual wealth tax. Estate duty and donations tax apply, at 20%, and 25% above a set threshold. |
| Legal basis | Income Tax Act, section 10(1)(gC)(i) and (ii) and the Eighth Schedule; SARS Taxation in South Africa 2026. |
National Treasury proposed in August 2025 to delete the exemption in section 10(1)(gC)(ii); on 4 November 2025 it withdrew the proposal (read 11 October 2026) pending a renewed consultation, and the SARS 2026 guide still lists the exemption.
Tax follows tax residence, not the permit: the treatment applies once you are tax-resident in South Africa. The country that pays your pension may still tax it under the relevant double tax treaty. This is general information, not tax advice. See also countries that don't tax foreign pensions.
You apply at the South African mission in your country of residence. The Washington DC embassy's retired persons visa sheet (read 11 October 2026) states 4 weeks for long-term visas exceeding 90 days; the Canberra high commission page (read 11 October 2026) says the time is not currently available. No processing time, fee or in-country renewal rule for section 27(e) permanent residence was found on an official page; we confirm them for your case.
Mission application fees are non-refundable: US$55 at Washington DC and AUD 37 at Canberra. DHA and VFS fees were not read, so the full cost is confirmed per case. The file includes:
The visa is issued for up to four years at a time and can be renewed one or more times on continuing proof of the pension, annuity or net worth (section 20(3)(b)).
Permanent residence on retirement grounds is available directly under section 27(e), on the same financial test, and the Act text we read requires no prior temporary period. Hence the renewal category "none: permanent residence at first expiry": no visa renewals are needed before you apply, and the permit is permanent from the grant, subject to section 28. That text is the 2014 consolidation; later amendments to sections 20 and 27 were not checked.
A path to citizenship is not stated for this route. South Africa's naturalisation criteria and dual nationality rules were not read from an official page, so both are not yet officially confirmed.
South Africa suits retirees with a lifelong pension, or assets with a steady monthly income, who want a choice between a renewable visa and permanent residence from the start. Its trade-offs are worldwide tax on non-pension income and a minimum not yet officially confirmed.
Compare routes across regions in the full Golden Retirement Index, our retirement and passive-income residency guide and, for Latin America, pensionado and rentista visas compared.
For a first answer at any hour, ask Mira, by Mirabello, the AI advisor of Mirabello Immigration Intelligence. It reads the same verified programme data as this page and can compare South Africa with the other routes in the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index. A specialist then checks the details that decide your case.
Mirabello Consultancy checks whether your pension is paid for life, or whether your assets produce enough monthly income, confirms the current minimum with the mission that will decide your file, helps you choose between the renewable visa and direct permanent residence, and prepares the file for the mission in your country of residence. To find out whether your income qualifies, book a free, confidential consultation.
Information only, not legal or tax advice. Requirements were read from the official sources linked above on 11 October 2026 and can change; we confirm them for your case.
Qualifying routes
South Africa Retired Person Visa can be reached by 3 qualifying routes, each verified by the Mirabello data team against official government sources. None of them is an investment: each is a test of the savings or income you already hold, measured over a fixed period. A Mirabello specialist will confirm which route fits your circumstances and how the consulate you apply to applies it.
| Route | From | Type |
|---|---|---|
| Retired Person Visa, pension route: lifelong pension, annuity or retirement account (up to 4 years, renewable) | Monthly minimum to be confirmed | pension income |
| Retired Person Visa, net worth route: assets realising the monthly minimum (up to 4 years, renewable) | Monthly minimum to be confirmed | passive income |
| Permanent residence on retirement grounds, section 27(e) | Same monthly test, to be confirmed | pension or passive income |
MCPSouth Africa Retired Person Visa is scored by the Mirabello Investment Migration Index across seven dimensions: investment cost, visa-free mobility, processing speed, path to citizenship, regulatory stability, family inclusion and tax treatment. A higher composite score signals a more competitive, accessible and well-regulated programme.
Scored on cost, mobility, speed, path, stability, family and tax.
Our read: South Africa's retired person visa is granted to a foreigner who intends to retire there and proves a pension, irrevocable annuity or retirement account paying at least the prescribed monthly amount for life (official sources differ on the current figure), or assets realising the same amount (Immigration Act 13 of 2002 s20; Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014). It is issued for up to four years at a time and renewable, and permanent residence on retirement grounds is available on the same test under section 27(e). Residents are taxed on worldwide income; a foreign pension for past employment abroad is exempt under section 10(1)(gC) of the Income Tax Act, while dividends, interest, rent and gains are taxed. Regulatory status: not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists. Strategic perspective, advisory only; figures provenance-tracked, unconfirmed items flagged for verification.
A four-question indicative check to see whether this programme fits your profile. A Mirabello specialist then reviews your nationality, family structure, finances and timeline in full confidence, confirming your detailed eligibility and which qualifying route suits you, at no cost and with no obligation.
Based on your answers, South Africa Retired Person Visa looks worth a closer look. A Mirabello specialist will map the precise route to your nationality, family and tax position.
Book a free consultationHow it compares
The table below compares South Africa Retired Person Visa against its closest alternatives, scored on the Mirabello Investment Migration Index across cost, visa-free mobility, processing speed, regulatory stability and path to citizenship. All figures and processing times are sourced from official government data and independently verified by the Mirabello data team.
Sourced live from the MirabelloMCP · per case
| Programme | From | Timeline | Min. stay | Mobility | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 🇿🇦 South Africa Retired Person Visa | No fixed minimum | Varies by mission | No minimum stay | South Africa residence only | Residence permit |
| 🇨🇾 Cyprus Permanent Residency | €300,000 | About 2 months | One visit every 2 years | EU member state | Residence permit |
| 🇲🇹 Malta Global Residence Programme (GRP) | €220,000 | 3-6 months | None | Visa-free travel within Schengen Area | Residence permit |
| 🇲🇹 Malta Permanent Residence (MPRP) | €99,000 | No official figure | None | Visa-free travel within Schengen Area | Residence permit |
Questions
The questions below cover South Africa Retired Person Visa investment costs, processing timelines, eligibility and family inclusion, minimum-stay requirements, the path to citizenship and tax obligations. All figures are provenance-tracked against official sources; where a threshold is time-sensitive, the verified date is shown alongside the answer.
Figures verified against official sources, provenance-tracked, information, not advice · Last updated 2026-10-11
It is the Retired Person Visa under section 20 of the Immigration Act 13 of 2002, for a foreigner who intends to retire in South Africa and proves a lifelong pension, annuity or retirement account, or assets, paying the prescribed monthly minimum. It is issued for up to four years at a time and is renewable, and permanent residence is available directly on the same test under section 27(e). It is proof of income, not an investment.
The amount is not yet officially confirmed. Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014 prescribes a monthly minimum, but official sources currently state different monthly amounts and no amending Gazette notice was found, so we do not publish a figure. The same minimum applies to a pension, an irrevocable annuity, a retirement account or assets that realise it. No separate amount per dependant is stated. We confirm the current figure with the mission that will decide your application.
Yes. Section 27(e) of the Immigration Act grants permanent residence directly to a person who intends to retire, on the same financial test as the visa, and the Act text we read requires no prior temporary period. A permanent residence permit may be withdrawn after more than three years' absence, unless extended on prior application, or if you do not take up residence within one year of issue (section 28).
Not fully: it is rated Partial, 67.4 out of 100, grade B, in the Mirabello Golden Retirement Index (scored 11 October 2026, methodology 1.1). Partial means it meets most of the standard, with one gap: the score falls below the Golden line of 70. Its weakest pillars are tax, since residents are taxed on worldwide income, and durability, since the visa runs up to four years at a time; physical presence scores full marks.
South Africa taxes residents on worldwide income, but a foreign pension is exempt when paid under another country's social security system, or for past employment outside South Africa (Income Tax Act, section 10(1)(gC)). Otherwise it is taxed at progressive rates up to 45%. Foreign dividends carry a maximum effective 20% and capital gains 18%. Tax follows tax residence, not the permit, and this is general information, not tax advice.
No. The Retired Person Visa sets no minimum stay and may allow a seasonal or continuous sojourn (section 20(3)(a)). The absence rule applies only to permanent residence, which may be withdrawn after more than three years away unless extended on prior application. You become tax-resident if ordinarily resident, or after more than 91 days in the year and 915 days over the 5 preceding years, among other conditions.
Not as of right. The Retired Person Visa is not a work visa: the Director-General may authorise the holder to work, on conditions the Director-General sets (section 20(2)). If you plan paid work in South Africa, we check that before you apply, because the authorisation is discretionary.
Yes. Your spouse and dependent children who accompany you may be issued an appropriate visa (section 20(1A) of the Immigration Act). The Act, the regulations and the Gazette notice state no separate amount per dependant. Ask Mira, by Mirabello for a first view, or book a free consultation to plan the family file.
You apply at the South African mission in your country of residence. The Washington DC mission states 4 weeks for long-term visas exceeding 90 days; the Canberra page says the time is not currently available. Mission fees read are US$55 (Washington DC) and AUD 37 (Canberra). You need a police clearance certificate; the medical report has been waived since 8 July 2026. Section 27(e) processing times and fees were not found on an official page.
A path to citizenship is not stated for this route. South Africa's naturalisation criteria and dual nationality rules were not read from an official page, so both are not yet officially confirmed. What the route does offer is permanent residence directly under section 27(e), which we can plan with you.
Estate planning
A residence permit in South Africa does not change your nationality and adds no law you can elect under EU Regulation 650/2012 (Article 22). If you come to live in South Africa, the law of South Africa may govern your estate by default under Article 21, unless you elect the law of a nationality you already hold. The permit changes no tax position.
Read which law governs your estate for how the law of your nationality and the law of where you live interact. General information, not legal advice.
Book a confidential, no-obligation consultation with a Mirabello investment migration specialist, in your own language. We will confirm which programme fits your profile, your budget and your timeline, and outline the precise path to your second citizenship or residence permit, at no cost and with no commitment.
Book a free consultation